

Guy Battle Battle McCarthy Dr Bill Bordass Usable Buildings Trust Chris Beauman European Bank for Reconstruction and Development Andrew Comer
Buro Happold
Paddy Conaghan Dr Frank Duffy PPRIBA Co-Founder DEGW Rachel Fisher Prof Max Fordham PPCIBSE
Max Fordham LLP
Andy Ford Mott MacDonald Fulcrum Simon Foxell
The Architects Practice Bill Gething Sustainability + Architecture Jim Green
Baylight Properties **Prof Peter Guthrie** University of Cambridge

David Hampton

The Carbon Coach Dr Jan Hellings Olympic Development Agency
Mike Hitchens Sarah Ichioka Prof Paul Jowitt, Pres.ICE
Heriot-Watt University Janet Kidner Buro Happold Chani Leahong Mott MacDonald Fulcrum Richard Lorch

1 to 1 Solutions Ltd
Robin Nicholson
Edward Cullinan Architects
Michael Pawlyn
Exploration Architecture
Adam Poole
Buro Happold
Sunand Prasad PPRIBA
Penoyre and Prasad LLP
Lars Ostenfeld Reimann
Ramboll
Yasmin Shariff
Dennis Sharp Architects

Building Research and Information
Mike Murray

Yasmin Shariff
Dennis Sharp Architects
Lynne Sullivan
sustainableBYdesign
Chris Twinn
Arup
Bill Watts
Max Fordham LLP

Prof Mark Whitby PPICE
Co-Founder Whitby Bird
Jane Wernick
Jane Wernick Associates
Jane Powell
Debate Secretary

SUPPORTED BY
Carbon Trust, CIBSE, ICE, RIBA
RICS, IStructE

www.edgedebate.com

EDGE Report - August 2010

Edge activities - summary

In the two years since the last Edge report the group has been busy on a wide range of fronts with the publication and launch of the five Edge Futures books, the research project on housing the elderly in collaboration with the Department for Communities and Local Government, preparations for the COP 15 in Copenhagen in December 2009 and working with the government's Chief Construction Adviser on the Low Carbon Construction report, in addition to debates and other events. The Edge also maintains its links with its sponsor institutions (the RIBA, ICE, CIBSE, IStructE & RICS).

The Edge committee

The Edge 'Committee' continues to meet on a monthly basis with several members achieving additional prominence:

- 1 Paul Jowitt became the President of the Institution of Civil Engineers in November 2008
- 2 Bill Bordass has been a visiting fellow at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in California
- 3 Robin Nicholson has chaired the Zero-carbon Task Force for DCSF
- 4 Andy Ford has been appointed a Vice-President of CIBSE
- 5 Sunand Prasad is the immediate past President of the RIBA

Other members of the committee continue their active involvement with the sponsoring construction and built environment institutions as well as other groups including; Constructing Excellence, the Strategic Forum, the British Property Federation, the Building Research Establishment, CABE, Building Regulations Advisory Committee (BRAC), the Civic Trust, the Zero Carbon Hub, the Construction Industry Council, the Architects' Council of Europe (ACE), the European Forum for Architectural Policies (EFAP), the Global Commons Institute (GCI), the All Party Parliamentary Climate Change Group (APPCCG), Good Homes Alliance, SPONGE, the Royal Society for the Arts and the UK Green Building Council (UKGBC).

Members maintain regular contact with government departments, including; DECC, CLG, DEFRA, DCMS, OGC, DCSF and The Cabinet Office, as well as ministers and members of both houses of parliament. Members of the Edge teach and lecture widely, both in the UK and abroad as well as being active professionally in the design and delivery of significant projects across the world.

New recruits to the Edge committee include:

- 1 Mike Hitchens, Pell Frischmann
- 2 Sarah Ikioka, The Architecture Foundation
- 3 Richard Lorch, Building Research and Information
- 4 Michael Pawlyn, Exploration Architecture
- 5 Sunand Prasad, Penovre & Prasad
- 6 Lars Ostenfeld Reimann, Ramboll
- 7 Jane Wernick, Jane Wernick Associates
- 8 Francis Li, Buro Happold
- 9 Andrew Comer, Buro Happold
- 10 Dorte Rich Jorgensen, Atkins
- 11 Stephen Hill, C20 Futureplanners